Sheboygan firefighters against reduction in staffing

SHEBOYGAN — Sheboygan firefighters are sounding off against an irresponsible plan to remove fire fighters that are in place to serve the community.

On January 1, 2016, City of Sheboygan officials have determined that Station 5 (far south side) and Station 4 (far north side) will serve their neighborhoods with a staffing of only two firefighters on a regular basis. This reduction is well below industry standards of four firefighters to a truck and drastically reduces the ability to search for trapped victims at a fire.

While still below nationally accepted industry standards, three firefighters arriving at a home at least gives fire fighters the ability to enter a burning home and extinguish a fire or remove a victim. Two firefighters arriving by themselves require them to wait for an additional fire engine before they can enter a home, which costs lives and property.

“This 33% reduction in the response capability of the affected trucks has been scientifically proven to limit the ability of these crews to perform essential fire ground tasks associated with saving lives and property while increasing the chances for fire fighter injury,” said Chase Longmiller, the President of Sheboygan Fire Fighters Local 483.

The Sheboygan Fire Fighters Local 483 is currently working on a scientific study that will show the negative effects that this plan has on our community and will continue its effort to educate the public and city leaders on this very important public safety issue.

In the meantime, Sheboygan Fire Fighters Local 483 adamantly opposes these reductions and urges citizens to call their alderpersons and tell them you oppose removing fire fighters from the community.

DISTRICT 1

Todd Wolf
523 Columbus Ave.
920-226-1698
todd.wolf@sheboyganwi.gov

John Belanger
2622 N. 3rd Street
920-946-2738
john.belanger@sheboyganwi.gov

DISTRICT 2

Roman Draughon
1702 Alexander Court
920-698-0429
roman.draughon@sheboyganwi.gov

DISTRICT 3

Rosemarie Trester
2110 N. 9th Street
920-452-3166
rosemarie.trester@sheboyganwi.gov

Mike Damrow
1955 N. 4th St.
920-918-2115
mike.damrow@sheboyganwi.gov

DISTRICT 4

Job Hou-seye
715 N. 14th St.
920-918-9475
job.hou-seye@sheboyganwi.gov

Mary Lynne Donohue
418 St. Clair Ave.
920-458-1027
marylynne.donohue@sheboyganwi.gov

DISTRICT 5

Billy Thiel
1703 N. 37th Street
920-918-0033
bill.thiel@sheboyganwi.gov

Julie Kath
1730 N. 35th St.
920-458-0775
julie.jath@sheboyganwi.gov

DISTRICT 6

Mark Hermann
1441 Parkview Terrace
920-452-3297
mark.hermann@sheboyganwi.gov

Bryan Bitters
911 Georgia Ave.
920-452-5195
email: bryan.bitters@sheboyganwi.gov

DISTRICT 7

Don Hammond
4819 Ferndale Court
(920) 451-8992
don.hammond@sheboyganwi.gov

Susan Lessard
5016 Moenning Road
(920) 458-5662
susan.lessard@sheboyganwi.gov

DISTRICT 8

Joseph Heidemann
4819 S. 12th Street
920-254-4203
joseph.heidemann@sheboyganwi.gov

Jim Bohren (proposed in past to close fire stations, cut firefighters)
1526 Knoll Crest Dr.
920-452-1777
jim.bohren@sheboyganwi.gov